Digital Citizenship

Week 1 Journal and Resources

 

Week 1 Journal and Resources

            This week, I learned that the foundational and principle ideas surrounding digital citizenship are extensive and essential. I was able to decipher my personal definition of digital citizenship: moral, legal, and successful digital communication and presence. In the Terry Heick web post, I really appreciated the verbs provided to help define all the subsets of the idea of digital citizenship (2013). The ones that particularly hit home were use, seek, create, and explore (Heick, 2013). When I create my hybrid course over the summer, I plan to revisit this resource to make sure I am not just covering digital citizenship, but implementing it and modeling it in my course. In Mike Ribble’s explanation of his nine themes of digital citizenship, the few that stood out to me the most, as explained in my discussion post, are etiquette and literacy (2015). I am currently looking most forward to this course helping me navigate my way through these difficult areas, and in many cases, new areas. Perhaps what I found most interesting was Jason Ohler’s article. The title “Digital Citizenship Means Character Education for the Digital Age” is what helped lead me to my definition of digital citizenship. It makes so much sense. We, as educators, work extremely hard to help students grow into proper American citizens. Now, with so much change in our technological world, we now have two jobs to do! We need to make them into proper real world American citizens, and we need to facilitate their growth into a proper digital citizen as well! I feel as though one day, far in the future, these will seamlessly intertwine and connect. However, until then we will need to categorize these and make sure students are very specifically getting education on how to become a strong and purposeful digital citizen. Ohler states that “the most important job before us is to help students understand issues of digital responsibility, and to do so at school as part of a digital health initiative” (2012). I completely agree that it is our job, but I do not quite yet know when or how to make this happen. Does it begin in elementary school? Middle school? Do we have an entire course devoted to digital citizenship? These are questions I hope to answer throughout the remaining four weeks of the course, as I have experienced some issues already in creating my hybrid course.

Heick, T. (2013, May 2). The definition of digital literacy. Retrieved March 1, 2017, from

            http://www.teachthought.com/the-future-of-learning/digital-citizenship-the-

             future-of- learning/the-definition-of-digital-citzenship

Ohler, J. (2012). Digital citizenship means character education in the digital age. Educational

            Digest, 14-17. Retrieved from https://luonline.blackboard.com/bbcswebdav/pid-

           2564197- dt-content rid 19470500_1/

Ribble, M. (2015). Digital citizenship in schools: Nine elements all students should know. (3rd

            ed.). Eugene, OR: International Society for Technology.

Below are some new resources found this week to help supplement my knowledge and experience in digital citizenship.

http://www.teachinctrl.org/lessons/livingdigitalworld.php
https://www.brainpop.com/technology/digitalcitizenship/

https://www.iste.org/docs/excerpts/DIGCI2-excerpt.pdf

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

