Digital Citizenship

Copyright and Plagiarism

          I am still a little unclear about why having the US Copyright Office under the Library of Congress is so terrible. The paper was terribly difficult to process for me for some reason.  From what I can gather from the White Paper (and–why is it called a White Paper???) they want to separate them because having it continue under the Library of Congress slows things down and makes it more difficult to modernize somehow. If that is the case, than yes, I believe they should separate. Modernizing everything is essential, and I believe that any sector of government that is still paper-only is WAY outdated. The US Copyright Office needs to modernize due to the fact that SO much has changed since it was first in place in 1870. There is one detail that worries me– their fifth summative point states that the president and senate need to elect the Register. The reason that I am worried about that is because of our current state of affairs. No offense to anyone, but I don’t think that our current president knows how to elect someone of this caliber, and considering his cabinet member choices, I most likely wouldn’t approve of his pick for this either. I know it’s probably not the best idea to bring up politics, and I am hoping no one bashes me or tells me my opinion is useless, but it’s just my reaction after reading the paper, and these discussions are supposed to be genuine and organic.

          Plagiarism is when you take ownership of a work that is not your own (“The difference between”). An example of plagiarism is when a student writes a term paper on a book and includes information that is not his own. He would write the information down in his paragraph and then not cite the location where it came from. This would ONLY work if the information was his original thought. Copyright Infringement is “infringement on the rights of a copyright holder” (“The difference between”). The rights mentioned are “The right to reproduce (copy) a work…the right to create derivative works based upon it…the right to distribute copies of the work to the public…the right to publicly display or perform the work (“The difference between”). An example of this could be if someone makes copies of a book that is copyrighted (without permission) and distributes those copies to many people. Attribution is when you appropriately credit the piece you are using. An example of this is if you cite a piece of literature or speech in a separate speech you are making. Transformation is the most confusing to me. I THINK it is when you change the piece enough that you are allowed to use it if it’s being used in a new way… I guess this is kind of like paraphrasing, but even then, the information must be credited and cited. To be honest, all of this has been the most daunting of topics in all of the courses I have taken so far (and I only have 2 left!) so I hope I am processing it all accurately.

 

Bailey, J. (2005-2017). “The difference between copyright infringement and

          plagiarism”. Plagiarism Today. Retrieved from https://www.

          plagiarismtoday.com /2013/10/07/difference-copyright-infringement-

          plagiarism/

 

Leave a Reply

